Swift Linux

It looks like the home site of the Swift Linux has been attacked few days after this comment and I could not download a single file (Image).

This is why I stated that one should host images with linuxtracker as torrent file or ones own site as torrents.

Even Linux tracker was attacked in this modern digital age if one is not careful.

They said they are rising from the ashes of phoenix and and they surely did.

One mad digital guy / girl with corporate backing can do enormous damage while most of the average guys and girls do wonderful things with digital (code and programming) fingers and code soup.

I once thought writing and blogging on Live CD and Linux are a waste of time but now I realize what a load of image building I have done for them without even knowing any one of them.

Keep up the good work. 

This world has lot of good guys and only a few bad and ugly guys (I mean both sex).

I am a fan of Mepis and AntiX.

AntiX is lighter weight version of Mepis with lot of packages and works with old computers with low RAM.

I have been looking for weird form of Linux derivatives and came across Swift Linux some time ago.

After about 40 tries (download stream abruptly stops without completing) I managed to get diet Linux and Taylor Swift with  music at start up.

This was 0.0.2 version and I gave up because it was only live and no install.

I could not get the other images and then suddenly another version came.

The 0.0.3 but could not  download with similar failure as above.

However my interest did waxed and waned but when I saw Distrowatch including it as a viable option I decided to get the latest version.

It was not there in Distrowatch or Softpedia and typed home of Swift Linux.

Presto!

Big jump the version is 0.1.1 and I am currently attempting to download.

Their vision and goal are both honourable.

When Microsoft leave you high and dry, one need not throw the computer away or buy new one.

Swift will take over swiftly the vacuum left.

They have included Open Office which I have begun to hate now.

Hope they will include LibreOffice in future issues.

Please go and visit their site and I wish them good luck and hope they will leave the image at linuxtracker to prevent my agony of downloading. 

I will come back with a honest report if I am successful in downloading it.


About asokaplus

Fully retired from both medical and academic activities. Fully retired from web presence in politics, religion and science except ultra physics. My mind is open.to presence of other beings in.the universe. In case they visit us, this blog site gives them a snapshot of my FREE ideas for them to glimpse.
This entry was posted in Swift Linux and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Swift Linux

  1. Jason Hsu says:

    The Swift Linux web site is back up. Every edition of the latest version (0.1.1) is now available except for Chicago Swift Linux. I apologize for the inconvenience.

    My web host provider suspended the Swift Linux web site due to excessive use of “unlimited” bandwidth. I had to remove the ISO files, and I now use SourceForge to host these big files.

    I know OpenOffice 2.4.1 is very old, but version 2 of OpenOffice is much lighter than version 3 and LibreOffice. OpenOffice version 2 only requires 128 MB of RAM (256 recommended) while version 3 and LibreOffice require 256 MB of RAM (512 recommended). Remember that Swift Linux only requires 128 MB of RAM (256 recommended), and I’m estimating on the high side. (The official requirement for antiX is only 64 MB.) Thus, preinstalling OpenOffice version 3 or LibreOffice in Swift Linux would be no more appropriate than preinstalling OpenOffice version 2 in a heavy distro like Ubuntu, Mint, or Fedora.

    OpenOffice is also a very large program that takes up a significant amount of space in the ISO file. One of the challenges of Swift Linux is keeping the ISO file small enough to fit onto a CD. I have to cut programs and features in the process of transforming antiX Linux into Swift Linux.

    Like

Leave a comment